Winners of the ZwickRoell Science Award – generating impetus for new products and applications

For the sixth time in succession, the ZwickRoell Academia Day provided the setting for the presentation of the 2014 ZwickRoell Science Awards. An international audience gathered at the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (ETH) in Zürich on 2nd June 2015 to celebrate the achievements of this year’s winners of the prize for the most innovative use of a materials testing machine in a scientific context.
Winner without background

The first prize of 5,000 euros went this year to Markus Seidl of the Institute of Physical Chemistry at the University of Innsbruck. His paper describes the special features of the phase diagram of water at very low temperatures and high pressures. An aggregate state which can be brought about by the use of liquid nitrogen and a ZwickRoell AllroundLine testing machine. The results of the research will be of interest for all processes in which crystal nucleation and growth is a significant component, ranging from areas of biology and environmental technology to food engineering and pharmaceutical engineering; for example how this knowledge can be used to extend the shelf life of medicines.

The jury, made up this year of representatives from the University of Bayreuth, the University of Bristol and the ETH Zürich, awarded second and third places to German scientists. An additional third place went to a project from Spain. The prizewinners also had the opportunity to present their work alongside notable professors, as part of the Academia Day series of scientific lectures in front of an international specialist audience.

For the seventh edition of the ZwickRoell Science Awards we are once more looking for interesting scientific projects from different areas of materials testing. Applicants have until 30 November to submit their entries. Full details can be found at, or in the ZwickRoell Science Blog (

Illustration: (from left) Markus Seidl (1st prize), Alper Güner (3rd prize), Dr. Stefan Schmaltz (2nd prize), Dr. Rocío Muñoz Moreno (3rd prize)