跳转到页面内容

压缩试验和缺口压缩试验(OHC、FHC)

名字 类型 尺寸 下载
  • 行业手册:复合材料 PDF 34 MB

试验目的

压缩试验用于测定如压缩模量和抗压强度等压缩性能。主要试验对象为单向纤维增强复合材料(0°或90°方向)、多向层压板、纤维、织物以及合成塑料或热塑性塑料基体材料。

除了对未被破坏的层压复合材料进行测试外,还会采用对预开孔材料进行测试的方法,用以分析破坏带来的影响。缺口压缩试验如开孔试样压缩试验(OHC)填孔试样压缩试验(FHC)都模拟了实际工况中采用螺栓或铆钉连接的复合材料构件。

复合材料的压缩试验对于试样制备、试验人员以及试验技术都提出了很高的要求。当层压复合材料承受压缩载荷时,剪切力会达到峰值,必须避免产生弯曲应变,以确保能够测定材料的真实特性。

近年来发展出许多试验方法,这些方法各有长处。

端面载荷压缩试验

该方法基于ASTM D695标准,并在各种标准中得到进一步改良。

一个优势是设备组合相对简单,工装只需要一个完全垂直固定的支撑块。 

在此方法中,试样纵向放入两块压板之间。支撑块防止材料过早地因弯曲而失效。

该试验包含以下两部分:

  • 没有加强片的试样用于测量压缩模量,而应变使用应变片测量。
  • 试样通过加强片增强,以测量抗压强度。这可防止试样两端受力点材料过早地失效。

该方法在ISO、ASTM、EN、DIN等标准中都有描述。通常,如果试验执行无误,则可以得到可再现的压缩模量值;而测定抗压强度时则常常会发生离散结果。

压缩模量测量: 

如果试样应变小,那么可以得到可再现的压缩模量。如果试样应变较大,那试样两端在受力时会松散开,将会对试验方法产生限制。

在试样两端加装加强片可以让受力点得到加强,试样直至断裂均按照所要求的测试路径变化。在图中可以看到在完全失效之前,材料已经开始分层。该方法要求对试样端面进行非常精确的处理。 

在剪切载荷压缩条件下的压缩试验

该试验中,通过对试样夹持而产生摩擦接触施加压缩力。如果试样足够长,在标距内可以达到均匀的应力分布。

  • 该方法的优势之一是在测试中可以对试样进行精确的轴向导向,同时由于没有端面载荷也可以省去端面的处理过程。 
  • 该方法在80年代被标准化为ASTM D3410,方法中采用塞拉尼斯试验工装以及锥形夹具;方法在其他标准中也有进一步发展。 
  • 塞拉尼斯工装也有缺陷:试样厚度的差异会引起夹具发生不希望出现的线接触夹持。DIN 65375prEN 2850标准改进了塞拉尼斯工装,用平面楔形夹具解决了试样厚度差异产生的问题。

美国IITRI开发的含导向柱试验工装

  • 美国IITRI开发出了类似的采用导向柱的工装,现在在ASTM标准中已经取代了老式的塞拉尼斯压缩工装。该试验工装和塞拉尼斯工装类似,都采用了楔形夹持原理。
  • 试验前,需要先取出夹面,在工装外与试样对中,然后再将夹面和试样整体放入压缩工装。
  • 在测试过程中,通过轴向试验力引起楔形块动作从而生成夹持压力,由于试验中楔形夹具会有移动,可能会引起试样的弯曲。

HCCF液压平推夹具 - IMA Dresden

  • IMA Dresden开发了HCCF液压平推夹具并申请了专利。
  • HCCF夹具方便取放试样,操作简单,对中性精确,即使在测试过程中也能保持对中性能。
  • 液压平推夹具夹持不会产生粘滑运动,而采用楔形原理则会有。采用夹持式引伸计也成为可能。

端面组合载荷压缩试验

该试验方法适合需要更高测试载荷的大截面纤维增强复合材料试样。一部分压缩载荷来源于试样夹持;另一部分为端面加载。试样长度与夹面精确匹配,相比于端面加载压缩试验更长。和端面加载试验一样,该方法对于端面加工处理的要求非常高。

  • ASTM D6641ISO 14126方法2描述了一个由导向柱连接的四部件机械试验工装。夹持力由8个螺栓拧紧产生,螺栓需要用扭矩扳手拧紧。试验装置装载试样后,被放入试验机的两块压板之间。
  • 该方法经过进一步改良后,在空客标准AITM 1.00082010版中得到规定;标准描述了剪切载荷以及组合载荷。夹持力由液压平推原理施加。研究表明,通过夹面的结构设计,避免夹持力峰值出现在钳口处,将得到更有价值的断裂性能。空客标准中,这被称为“轻柔加载”。 
  • IMA Dresden研发的专利HCCF试验工装可以满足ASTM D6641标准要求。该压缩工装的夹持力通过液压装置提供,可以调节压力改变夹持力大小。
  • 对于经常进行压缩试验的实验室来说,此试验工具非常便于从正面取放试样,操作简便,也易于清洁。
  • HCCF试验工装同样符合AITM 1.0008标准要求。这在空客不莱梅工厂得到了测试和批准。

开孔试样压缩试验(OHC),填孔试样压缩试验(FHC)

  • 开孔压缩试验:
    该试验目的在于评估开孔对于层压板抗压强度的影响。测试结果一般以开孔因子K表示,表示试样失效与不失效的比率。根据空客AITM 1.0008标准,该试验需要采用压缩试验工装进行。ASTM和波音标准要求采用液压平推夹具配合固定装置夹持300mm长的试样进行试验。
  • 填孔试样压缩试验(FHC):
    填孔试样压缩试验的试样与开孔试样压缩试验试样相同,不同点在于使用螺纹连接封闭了预制孔。

我们针对您的每一项需求寻找最佳的测试解决方案。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们期待着就您的需求进行探讨。

 

联系我们

引伸计

引伸计

引伸计是在材料测试中所使用的测量仪器,用于测量材料试样的长度或伸长量。伸长量测量是ZwickRoell的核心竞争力之一。ZwickRoell的产品线包括不同分辨率、测量原理和测量行程的引伸计,还包括接触和非接触式测量。
至 引伸计
Top

Jump to the content of the page

Compression test and notched compression test (OHC, FHC)

Name Type Size Download
  • Industry brochure: Composites PDF 34 MB

Purpose of the test

Compression tests are used to characterize various compressive properties such as the compression modulus and compressive strength. They are performed on fiber-reinforced composites with uni-directional fibers, in the 0° or 90° direction, multi-directional laminates, fibers, fabrics, and matrix materials made of synthetic plastics or thermoplastics.

In addition to tests on undamaged laminates, methods for characterizing the influence of damage in the form of a hole are used. Notched compression tests such as open hole compression (OHC) and filled hole compression (FHC) tests using an inserted screw or bolt simulates the conditions of a composite structure with a screw or rivet.

The compression tests place high demands on specimen preparation, the lab staff who perform the tests, and on the testing technology itself. When a load is introduced to the laminate, shear stress peaks and bending strain must be avoided in order to characterize the actual properties of the material.

Various test methods have been developed in the last years that each demonstrated a different strength.

Compression test with end loading

This method is based on ASTM D695 and has be developed further in various standards.

One advantage is the relatively simple test arrangement. The tool requires only a support block that is positioned exactly vertical. 

In this method, the specimen is loaded between two compression platens in the longitudinal direction. A support block prevents the material from prematurely failing through buckling.

The test consists of the following two parts:

  • A specimen without cap strips is used to measure the compression modulus and the strain is measured with a strain gauge.
  • The specimen is reinforced by cap strips to measure the compressive strength. This prevents the material from prematurely failing at the end loading points.

The method is described in ISO, ASTM, EN, DIN, and other standards. As a rule, easily reproducible compression modulus values can be achieved if the test is performed correctly, whereby large scatters often occur when determining the compressive strength.

Measurement of the compression modulus: 

If specimen strain values are small, reproducible compression modulus values can be determined. If strain values are large, specimen splaying at the end loading points imposes limitations for the test method.

Applying cap strips strengthens the specimen at the end loading points on the front side, causing the specimen to break in the required measurement path. Initial delaminations occur prior to complete failure of the specimen and are visible in the diagram. This method requires very precise processing of the specimen's front surface. 

Compression test under shear load compression

In this procedure, compressive force is applied by gripping the specimen, that is via frictional contact. If the specimen is long enough, homogeneous stress distribution is achieved in the measurement path.

  • One advantage to this is the good axial guiding of the specimen during the test, as well as the omission of front-side end loading and the associated need for processing the front side. 
  • The method was standardized in the 1980s in ASTM D3410 as the Celanese testing tool with conical clamping elements and further developed in various other standards. 
  • With the Celanese tool, deviations in specimen thickness lead to unwanted linear support of the gripping elements. DIN 65375 and prEN 2850 offer modified Celanese tools with flat wedges to solve the problem posed by the specimen thickness.

Test fixture with column guides, developed by IITRI USA

  • IITRI in the USA developed a similar tool with column guides, which nowadays replaces the old Celanese compression tool in ASTM. This test fixture—like its predecessor model—uses a wedge clamping principle.
  • The wedge jaws are first aligned to the specimen outside the compression fixture and then placed into the compression fixture.
  • The gripping pressure is generated with a wedge action during the test via the axial force, resulting in wedge movements that could lead to bending in the specimen.

HCCF hydraulic test fixture – IMA Dresden

  • IMA Dresden developed and patented the HCCF hydraulic compression tool.
  • It offers excellent accessibility, simple handling, and fixed jaws, which remain precisely aligned with one another even during the test procedure.
  • Parallel hydraulic specimen clamping is stick-slip free, which is not the case with wedge-based principles. Use of a clip-on extensometer is possible.

Compression test with combined end loading (combined loading compression)

This procedure is suitable for the testing of fiber composites under the higher loads that occur when specimens have larger cross-sections. Part of the compressive force is loaded via specimen clamping; the rest on the ends of the specimen. The length of the specimen is matched precisely to the length of the jaws and is greater than that in simple end loading compression tests. Very high requirements are placed on the processing of specimen ends, as in the end loading procedure.

  • ASTM D6641 and Method 2 according to ISO 14126 describe a mechanical testing tool comprising four elements connected to each other by guide columns. The clamping force is generated with 8 screws, which are tightened with a torque key. The test device with integrated specimen is placed between two compression plates in the testing machine.
  • The procedure was developed further and stipulated in the Airbus standard AITM 1.0008 edition 2010, which describes both shear loading and combined loading. The application of clamping force is described as a hydraulic parallel clamping principle. Studies show that better break images are achieved when clamping peaks at the transition between free clamping length and clamping area are avoided by the structural design of the jaws. In the Airbus standard, this is described as "soft load introduction." 
  • The HCCF test fixture developed and patented by IMA Dresden fulfills the requirements of ASTM D6641. With this compression tool, the clamping force is applied hydraulically and can be set via the pressure.
  • For labs that regularly perform compression tests, this test tool offers excellent accessibility from the front, simplified handling, and facilitates easy cleaning.
  • The HCCF test fixture meets the requirements of AITM 1.0008. It was tested and approved by Airbus in Bremen.

Notched compression test (OHC), compression test on bolted laminates (FHC)

  • Notched compression test:
    This test characterizes the influence of a hole on the compression strength of a laminate. The result is usually presented as a notch factor, which gives the ratio of damaged to undamaged specimen. According to Airbus AITM 1.0008 , this test is performed with the fixtures of the compression test. ASTM and Boeing standards use a 300 mm-long specimen, which is to be gripped by a hydraulic parallel clamping tool with the aid of a support device.
  • Compression test on bolted laminates:
    This test uses the same specimen as the notch tensile test, and the hole is closed with a threaded connection.

We look for and find the optimal testing solution for every one of your requirements.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We look forward to discussing your needs.

 

Contact us

Extensometers

Extensometers

Extensometers are measuring instruments used in materials testing to measure lengths, or extensions of material specimens. Extension measurement is one of ZwickRoell’s core competences. ZwickRoell’s product portfolio includes extensometers with different resolution levels, measuring principles and measurement travel, as well as contact and non-contact measurement.
to Extensometers
Top