跳转到页面内容

冲击试验

什么是冲击试验?

冲击试验过程短暂,试验可以提供材料或部件在不同温度下受到高速载荷时的失效行为信息。冲击试验使用的试验系统是摆锤冲击试验机或落锤冲击试验机。

所有材料一般应用于温度变化的环境当中。由于材料断裂行为与温度相关,冲击试验一般需要在材料的整个工作温度范围内进行,以此得到材料脆性与温度的关系。

示例图显示,低碳钢在-40°C时的强度相对于0°C时的强度降低了25 %。塑料表现出类似的行为,通常要明显得多。还经常在不同温度下对塑料进行冲击试验。

使用摆锤冲击试验机进行冲击试验

简支梁冲击试验和悬臂梁冲击试验之间有什么区别?

最常见的冲击试验就是简支梁冲击试验或悬臂梁冲击试验。简支梁试验根据ISO 179-1和ASTM D6110实施。根据ISO 179-2进行仪器化简支梁试验。悬臂梁试验根据ISO 180、ASTM D256、ASTM D4508执行,“无缺口悬臂梁冲击试验”根据ASTM D4812执行。

简支梁冲击弯曲试验

根据ISO 179-1进行的简支梁试验是单点数据标准ISO 10350-1里面的理想试验方法。采用摆锤刀口向前冲击(1eU),无缺口试样比较适用于这个试验。如果试样在试验过程中没有断裂,则使用缺口试样执行后续试验。这种情况下,无法比较测试结果。如果使用缺口试样还没有发生试样断裂,那么可以使用冲击拉伸方法。 

仪器化简支梁冲击弯曲试验

通过测量实时的试验力,可以用高质量的测量技术通过二重积分得到一个高度精确的力与时间的曲线图。得到的数据有很多用途:

  • 附加的特性值可以帮助更好地理解材料的性能
  • 断裂力学特性值
  • 自动的、不依赖操作者的断裂类型判定,可从力与位移曲线图上得出

比如说,测量值曲线总是显示特征振荡。这些振荡来自于试样,其频率与试样的几何形状、尺寸和聚合物的模量值有确定的函数关系。测量范围大是仪器化的另一大优势。这里测量的是力而不是能量,就像传统的摆锤冲击试验机一样。由于测量电子控制器允许精确测量到标称力的1/100,可测量的冲击能量的最小值通常是由测试时长和测量元件的自然频率决定的。因此用两个仪器化摆锤锤头测得的数据覆盖ISO 179-2标准中描述的整个测量范围是可以的。 

悬臂梁冲击弯曲试验

在美国ASTM标准中,试验主要按照ASTM D256中所述的悬臂梁试验方法进行。在该标准中,所有冲击试验均采用缺口试样进行。如果只能制造小试样,可以用ASTM D4508规定的薄片冲击方法。它是与Dynstat冲击试验对应的试验方法。

使用落锤冲击试验机执行冲击试验

塑料圆盘样品的穿刺试验

穿刺试验对模塑材料是十分重要的。该试验类型在一个薄的圆盘上施加一个多轴应力,这是在高应变速率下诱导的。测试结果是一个力和时间的关系图或力和位移的关系图,且单点数据描述了曲线上特征值的变形量和最大试验力。ISO 6603-2和ASTM D3763中定义了圆盘的穿刺试验。ISO 7765-2是一个标准的更新版本,用于测试薄膜。

使用高速试验机执行冲击试验

HTM高速试验机可以广泛用于塑料测试。它有很高的测试速度和更广的载荷范围,可以灵活运用在拉伸和压缩试验中。环境试验箱可以配合测试提供更广的温度范围。 

有关不同试验类型的其他信息可通过以下链接找到:

Schlagprüfungen an Kunststoff: ISO 179 etc.

冲击试验

试验按照标准ISO 179、ASTM D6110、ISO 180、ASTM D256(包括其他涉及的试验)
冲击试验用于测定材料在高变形速率下的材料性能。在这里您可以找到以下试验的相关信息:简支梁试验(ISO 179-1)、仪器化简支梁试验(ISO 179-2)、悬臂梁试验(ISO 180)、拉伸冲击试验(ISO 8256)、穿刺试验(ISO 6603-2)。
至 冲击试验

金属简支梁冲击试验

在简支梁冲击试验中,用最高可达750J的能量冲击标准缺口试样。
至 金属简支梁冲击试验
Fallversuch

落锤冲击试验

落锤冲击试验是一个力学试验,其中规定的落锤从指定高度落在试样上。
至 落锤冲击试验

金属落锤冲击试验

根据DIN EN 10274和API 5L进行的落锤冲击试验是一个对金属进行的力学试验,其中规定的落锤从指定高度落在试样上。
至 金属落锤冲击试验
拉伸试验

高速拉伸试验

在高速拉伸试验中,试验是在平面试样上进行的,其载荷施加速度高达20 m/s。
至 高速拉伸试验
Top

Jump to the content of the page

Impact test

What is impact testing?

Impact tests are short-term tests, which provide information on the failure behavior of materials or components subjected to rapid loads and at varying temperatures. The testing systems used for these tests are either pendulum impact testers or drop-weight testers.

All materials are used on a daily basis with fluctuating temperatures. Since the fracture behavior also depends on the temperature, materials are often tested in the entire operating temperature range, indicating at which temperature and to what extent a material becomes brittle.

The example diagram shows that the decrease in strength of mild steel at -40 °C is 25 % in relation to the strength at 0 °C. Plastics display similar behavior, generally considerably more pronounced. Impact tests are also frequently carried out on plastics at various temperatures.

Impact Testing with Pendulum Impact Testers

What is the difference between Charpy and Izod impact tests?

The most common impact tests are either Charpy or Izod. Charpy tests are implemented according to ISO 179-1 and ASTM D6110. Instrumented Charpy tests to ISO 179-2. Izod tests are performed to ISO 180, ASTM D256, ASTM D4508 and "unnotched cantilever beam impact" to ASTM D4812.

Impact bending test to Charpy

Charpy to ISO 179-1 is the preferred test method within the standard for single-point data ISO 10350-1. The test is preferably performed on unnotched specimens with edgewise impact (1eU). Should the specimen not break during the test, any subsequent tests are performed with notched specimens. In this case, a comparison of the test results is not possible. If a specimen break still does not occur using the notched specimen, the impact tensile method is used. 

Instrumented Charpy impact bending test

By plotting the force time sequence, a force time diagram with excellent accuracy can be achieved through double integration using high-quality measurement technology. The resulting data can be used in different ways:

  • Additional characteristic values that enhance the understanding of material behavior
  • Fracture mechanical characteristic values
  • Automatic, operator-independent determination of the type of break using the curve progression in the force travel diagram

For one, the measured value curves always display characteristic oscillations. These oscillations originate from the specimen, whose frequency is in a defined functional relationship with the specimen geometry, the dimensions and the modulus value of the polymer. The wide measuring range is another major advantage of the instrumentation. Here forces and not energies, as with conventional pendulum impact testers, are measured. Since the measurement electronics allow for precise measurements as low as 1/100 of the nominal force, the lower end of the measurable impact energy is usually determined by the duration of the test and by the natural frequency of the measuring elements. This makes it possible to cover the entire measurement range described in ISO 179-2 with two instrumented pendulum hammers. 

Impact bending test to Izod

In the American ASTM standard testing is mainly performed according to the Izod test method, which is described in ASTM D256. Within this standard all impact tests are performed using notched specimens. If it is only possible to produce small specimens, the chip impact method to ASTM D4508 can be used. It is a counterpart to the Dynstat impact test.

Impact Tests with Drop Weight Testers

Puncture Tests on Test Plates

Puncture tests are of particular interest for molding materials.This type of test imposes a multi-axis stress condition on a thin plate, which is induced at a high strain rate.The result is:a force time or force travel diagram and single-point data that describe both the deflection of characteristic points of the diagram and the maximum force.Puncture tests on plates are defined in the following standards: ISO 6603-2 and ASTM D3763.ISO 7765-2 is a variation of the standard and is used for testing films.

Impact Tests with High-Speed Testing Machines

The HTM high-speed testing machine can be used widely in plastics testing. It has a very high test speed and large force ranges, and can be used flexibly in tensile and compression tests. A temperature chamber can be integrated to perform tests in a wide range of temperatures. 

Additional information on the different test types can be found by following these links:

Impact tests

Among others, ISO 179, ASTM D6110, ISO 180, ASTM D256
Here you will find, among other things, information on Charpy test (ISO 179-1), instrumented Charpy test (ISO 179-2), Izod test (ISO 180), tensile impact test (ISO 8256), puncture test (ISO 6603-2).
to Impact tests

Charpy impact test on metals

In a Charpy impact test the standardized notched specimens are impacted with energies of up to 750 joules.
to Charpy impact test on metals

Drop weight test

The drop weight test is a mechanical test, in which a defined weight falls onto a specimen from a specified height.
to Drop weight test

Drop weight test on metals

The drop weight test to DIN EN 10274 and API 5L is a mechanical test on metals, in which a defined weight drops onto a specimen from a specified height.
to Drop weight test on metals

High-Speed Tensile Test

In a high-speed tensile test, testing is performed on flat specimens with very high load application velocities of up to 20 m/s.
to High-Speed Tensile Test
Top