跳转到页面内容

ISO 178塑料的3点弯曲试验

ISO 178标准规定了塑料弯曲性能的测定。在3点弯曲试验中,将试样置于两个平行放置的砧座上,并用压缩模具使其弯曲。在此过程中,试样不得断裂。

有关塑料3点弯曲试验的进一步说明,请参见ASTM D790标准。

名字 类型 尺寸 下载

ISO 178标准3点弯曲试验的目的

ISO 178ASTM D790中所规定的3点弯曲试验,介绍了用于硬质和半硬质塑料的经典表征方法。

典型的测试结果包括:

  • 弯曲模量
  • 3.5 %伸长率下的应力
  • 屈服点和试样断裂处的应力和伸长率

3点弯曲试验要求

在表征模塑材料时,试样取自ISO 20753中规定的试样的中段。这保证了聚合物在弯曲试验和拉伸试验中采用相同的加工流程。

计算弯曲应力和应变时通常考虑小变形,但不考虑支座处的任何摩擦。正因如此,根据标准这个方法只能测到弯曲应变为3.5%,对应发生6 mm偏移、试样厚度为4 mm的ISO试样,按照标准,在该范围内,可接受的计算误差仍小于测量值的1%。

在弯曲试验中测量试样尺寸时要特别小心。因为试样厚度会以平方的形式参与弯曲应力的计算,测量误差结果也是平方的。即使一个厚度为4.0 mm(标称)的试样的测量误差仅为0.1 mm,也会导致弯曲应力有约5%的误差。

根据测试实验室的特定目的进行挠曲测量

  • 最简单的情况就是,只需测定最大试验力或应力,无需进行挠曲测量。
  • 如果仅测定挠曲值会导致例如外部纤维应变大于1%,即3.5%弯曲屈服强度,则通过试验机的横梁行程监控器进行简单测量即可。
  • 本标准中定义的类型III描述了质量保证或研发任务的工况,以及用于内部比较或公差监控目的的弯曲模量测量,因此,重要的不是测量的正确性,而是良好的可重复性。在这种情况下,为了简化试验装置,可以使用试验机的横梁行程监控器和符合性校正。
  • 如果目的是要获得精确且正确的测试结果,并且与其他测试实验室相比,测试结果仍然如此,则必须使用精度等级为1的直接挠曲测量。

用于获取可靠测试结果的ZwickRoell试验设备

  • 弯曲试验的结果反映了材料性能,特别是靠近试样表面的区域。测量的变形量大约是拉伸试验伸长量的四倍。
  • ZwickRoell试验机可以通过testXpert III软件补偿机架、力传感器和弯曲试验工具的变形。通过试验机的横梁位移传感器测出的数值是很精确的。仪器操作因此十分简便,特别是在质量控制中的应用。
  • 如果要求高的再现性,我们推荐使用在试样底部不产生应力的引伸计。ZwickRoell为弯曲试验提供了传感臂,可配合自动引伸计makroXtensmultiXtens,而不使用拉伸传感臂。
  • 除了尺寸精度,ZwickRoell高级的弯曲试验工装的一个主要特征是精确对中。两个砧座必须精确地对称,和压头也精确对称。在应力应变曲线中,角度误差可以引起曲线的突变,会导致模量的计算有很大的误差。可调整的夹具和设计巧妙的对中工具让对中变得简单。夹具上的突起对中块可以很精确地放置试样。

ISO 178标准的3点弯曲试验

根据ISO 178,设置试验工具并对塑料试样进行3点弯曲试验。使用makroXtens引伸计测量弯曲应变。

我们针对您的每一项需求寻找最佳的测试解决方案。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们期待着就您的需求进行探讨。

 

联系我们

符合ISO 178的相关产品

您可能还对以下内容感兴趣

Standard-Compliant Measurement of Tensile and Flexural Properties on Plastics
This live demonstration will show you how to determine the tensile and flexural properties of polymers according to international standards. We will give you helpful tips on what to consider for the different standards and what is important for reliable test results.
至 Standard-Compliant Measurement of Tensile and Flexural Properties on Plastics
ASTM D790标准的3点弯曲试验
ASTM D790标准描述了刚性和半刚性塑料以及长纤维增强型纤维复合材料的3点弯曲试验。
至 ASTM D790标准的3点弯曲试验
全自动试验系统
全自动塑料模塑材料测试降低了测试结果的统计数据离散性。 ZwickRoell为这个应用领域提供合适的自动化试验系统。
至 全自动试验系统
Top

Jump to the content of the page

ISO 178 3-Point Flexure Test on Plastics

The ISO 178 standard specifies the determination of the flexural properties of plastics.In a 3-point flexure test, the specimen is placed on two parallel-positioned anvils and bent via a compression die.The specimen is not allowed to break during this process.

A further description of the 3-point flexure test on plastics can be found in the ASTM D790 standard.

Name Type Size Download

Objective of the 3-point flexure test to ISO 178

The 3-point flexure tests specified in ISO 178 and ASTM D790, describe classic characterization methods for rigid and semi-rigid plastics.

Typical test results include:

  • Flexural modulus
  • Stress at 3.5 % elongation
  • Stresses and elongations at the yield point and at specimen break

Requirements for the 3-point flexure test

In the characterization of molding materials, specimens are taken from the mid-section of the specimen as specified in ISO 20753.This ensures that the polymer has the same processing state for the flexure test as it does for the tensile test.

Calculating the flexural stress and strain typically takes into account small deflections and does not take into account any friction at the supports.For this reason, the standards limit this method to a flexural strain of 3.5%, which corresponds to a deflection of 6 mm for ISO specimens with a height of 4 mm.The calculation error accepted by the standards in this range still lies under 1% of the measured value.

Exercising extreme care is a requirement when measuring specimen dimensions for a flexure test.Since specimen thickness is calculated quadratically in the flexural stress, the measurement error result is also a quadratic function.A measurement error of only 0.1 mm with a specimen height of 4.0 mm (nominal) produces an error in flexural stress of about 5%.

The deflection measurement is carried out according to the particular objective of the testing laboratory.

  • In the simplest case, only the maximum force or stress needs to be determined and no deflection measurement is required.
  • If only deflection values are to be determined that result in an outer fiber strain greater than 1%, that is, the 3.5% flexural yield strength for example, then a simple measurement via the crosshead travel monitor of the testing machine is sufficient.
  • Type III defined in the standard describes the case of a quality assurance or R&D task with flexural modulus measurement that only serves for internal comparison or tolerance monitoring purposes, and therefore, it is not so much the correctness but good repeatability of the measurement that matters.In this case, to simplify the test arrangement, the crosshead travel monitor of the testing machine and a compliance correction can be used.
  • If the objective is to achieve accurate and correct test results that also hold up in comparison with other testing laboratories, then use of a direct deflection measurement in accuracy class 1 is mandatory.

ZwickRoell test equipment for reliable test results

  • The results of the flexure test show the material behavior, in particular, near the surface of the specimen.The deflections measured are approximately four times greater than the extensions in a tensile test.
  • ZwickRoell testing machines can compensate for deformation of the load frame, force sensor, and flexure test tool using the testXpert III software.Measurement is sufficiently accurate via the testing machine's crosshead displacement transducer.Operating the machine is therefore made simple, especially for quality control purposes.
  • If a high degree of reproducibility is required, we recommend using an extensometer that facilitates load-free deflection under the specimen.ZwickRoell offers sensor arms for flexure tests that can be used with the automatic extensometers makroXtens or multiXtens, instead of tensile sensor arms.
  • Along with its dimensional accuracy, a key feature of our sophisticated flexure test kit is accurate alignment.The supports must be precisely aligned with one another and with the die.In the stress-strain diagram, angular errors can create a curve foot, which can significantly falsify determination of the modulus.Adjustable supports and well-designed gauges makes this task significantly easier.Centering stops on the supports make it easy to position the specimen with precision.

3-point flexure test to ISO 178

Setting the test tool and performing the 3-point flexure test on a plastic specimen to ISO 178.The flexural strain is measured with the makroXtens extensometer.

We look for and find the optimal testing solution for every one of your requirements.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We look forward to discussing your needs.

 

Contact us

Related products ISO 178

You may also be interested in

Standard-Compliant Measurement of Tensile and Flexural Properties on Plastics

This live demonstration will show you how to determine the tensile and flexural properties of polymers according to international standards. We will give you helpful tips on what to consider for the different standards and what is important for reliable test results.
to Standard-Compliant Measurement of Tensile and Flexural Properties on Plastics

3-point flexure test ASTM D790

The ASTM D790 standard describes 3-point flexure tests on rigid and semi-rigid plastics as well as fiber composites with long-fiber reinforcements.
to 3-point flexure test ASTM D790

Automation

Automation of plastic molding materials testing reduces the statistical scatter of test results. ZwickRoell offers the right automated testing systems for this application.
to Automation

Tensile test to ISO 527

ISO 527-1, ISO 527-2
The tensile test on plastics to ISO 527-1 and ISO 527-2 yields essential mechanical properties, including tensile stress, strain, tensile modulus, yield point, point of break and Poisson’s ratio.
to Tensile test to ISO 527

Tensile properties ASTM D638

The tensile test on plastics to ASTM D638 yields essential mechanical properties, including tensile stress, strain, tensile modulus, yield point, point of break and Poisson’s ratio.In this process, essential mechanical properties of a molding material or a specimen taken from a defined area on a component are determined.
to Tensile properties ASTM D638

Tensile tests at high strain rates

The measurement of stress-strain curves under high strain rates provides data for crash simulations, for example in vehicle construction.
to Tensile tests at high strain rates

Charpy impact and notched impact strength ISO 179-1 & ISO 179-2

The standards ISO 179-1 (non-instrumented impact strength test) and ISO 179-2 (instrumented impact strength test) describe the impact test to Charpy for determination of the impact and notched impact strength of plastics.
to Charpy impact and notched impact strength ISO 179-1 & ISO 179-2

Izod notched impact strength ASTM D256

Within the scope of ASTM, the notched impact strength of plastics is normally measured using the Izod test to ASTM D256.The flexural impact stress is applied to a notched specimen that is gripped on one side.The result is presented as the thickness-related energy absorption of the specimen.
to Izod notched impact strength ASTM D256

Izod impact and notched impact strength ISO 180

The ISO 180 standard describes the Izod impact test on plastics for determination of the impact and notched impact strength.
to Izod impact and notched impact strength ISO 180
Top