跳转到页面内容

包装测试

包装对产品的质量影响很大,同时也对消费者的购买决定有一定影响。这两个因素代表着对产品设计尤其是食品包装的主要挑战。用于其他物品的包装也必须符合许多基于类型和功能的额外条件,如:化妆品、药品、化学品的包装,运输包装(托盘和板条箱),工业包装(散装袋、容器、桶),电子电器包装和消费品包装。

名字 类型 尺寸 下载
  • 行业手册:食品和包装 PDF 6 MB

要求

包装产品对内容物的质量影响很大,同时也对消费者的购买决定有一定影响。这两个因素代表着对产品设计尤其是食品包装的主要挑战。再也没有像食物那样的产品有这么多新的和精美的包装发展。纳米技术、便捷、可生物降解的包装、智能和有效的系统是关键,

比如显示包装的食物和环境的智能系统;可测定内部气体浓度超出包装限制时的气体测定器。再比如,帮助延长保存期限的有效系统,比如吸收乙烯的喷涂塑料或过滤由近紫外光谱产生的光线和射线的过滤器。

由于日益上升的对方便的渴望,包装应该是能简单地拿着,简单地打开,可重封的或应该能直接在微波炉中加热,这样就不用把食物拿出来再加热。化妆品和医药用品的包装应可方便打开。此外,医疗设备的包装必须严格密封并可承受消毒。

包装由不同的材质和材料制成,因此要求用特殊的方式夹持、灵活的工装。以下是ZwickRoell提供的一些用于多种测试解决方案的试验工装的例子。

食物包装和包装材料测试的例子

整体包装功能测试

包装就如打开它们的方式一样是多种多样的。测定单独数据,因为试验标准是稀有的。

这类试验的例子:

  • 带吸管的穿刺饮料纸盒
  • 预打孔的穿刺
  • 拉环罐头的开启力
  • 撕去封盖的力,如边缘的封盖
  • 撕去手提把手的力
  • 有弹簧锁的盖子的开启力和关闭力
  • 喷淋泵的启动力

边缘材料或密封材料剥离试验

整个封装能否稳定地剥离或很困难地剥离取决于封装或密封材料与容器之间的结合力、设备参数,及密封衔接和被撕裂材料的几何形状,配备特殊剥离试验工装的剥离载荷测试能够帮助优化这些因素。最重要的参数是裂解力,但是密封的规则性同样重要。

ZwickRoell剥离试验工装在试验轴线方向上,剥离层区域为精确对中。采用滑动试样测试台,测试时包装材料自动跟随剥离方向,保证了连续和可重复的载荷测量。开口角度基于手动开启,可在90°和155°之间变化。另外,这套测试装置可以针对不同包装形状作出灵活的配置。

塑料杯、水桶、盒子、容器、桶及类似尺寸的稳定包装的压缩试验

压缩试验的目的有很多,如: 

测定堆垛特性:基于标准和使用的材料,有多种试验方法。一个或多个包装箱堆码在一起直至失效,即可得到最大堆码高度。这个试验也可对完全装满的塑料杯执行,或在预先设置的时间内施加一定的载荷,或直至失效。

测定固有刚度:这种测试为制造包装箱工艺提供一些必要的信息。在关闭的包装箱(含盖子)上加载一个特定载荷,包装箱必须经受这个载荷不发生破裂。

疲劳试验:对一个包装桶进行迟滞试验,观察其在破裂前能够承受多少频率的力。对应实际情况中调色板被加载和卸载的情况。并不显示每一次加载和卸载周期,为了监控,仅显示第一次、第100次、第500次和第1000次循环。

塑料薄膜的撕裂增长试验

试验标准ISO 34-1、ISO 6383-1、EN 495-2和DIN 53363是对应塑料薄膜的撕裂试验。

试验模拟当破开包装时包装薄膜的性能。当拆开一个塑料包装时,最初的撕裂强度应该与残余撕裂强度大致相等。如果初始撕裂的最大试验力太大,处在危险状态的塑料包将突然被完全撕裂打开,包装内的物品将掉出来。可是,理想的撕裂行为并不容易得到,因为撕裂强度(同样拉伸强度)与薄膜拉伸特性非常相关。

密封强度

按照DIN 55529和其他试验标准,对由柔性包装材料制造的密封产品进行密封强度测试。
对宽度为15mm的带状试样进行拉伸试验,剥离角度180°。密封必须有一定的刚度,取决于使用的包装材料的类型。

90°/180°剥离试验

这种类型的试验用于测定粘结特性,如粘合和撕裂强度。还有大量原理相同的剥离和撕裂试验。例如:EN 1939、EN 1719、DIN 30646、DIN 55475、DIN 55477、FINAT试验方法2

有这么多标准是因为有不同的基材和粘合剂用于不同的应用。用玻璃或不锈钢制成的测试片用于对比不同材料的粘结性能。

试验测定粘合剂或粘结强度:需要把一长条胶带粘合在一块试验平板上,测量撕裂力,测试结果为不同胶带宽度对应的剥离力。

黏性测试总是很重要:其测定了粘合一个表面的能力,得到一个可以测量的撕裂力。一种基材的粘结力是通过不施加力的接触或一点点接触测定的。

用于测定胶带粘合强度的环形快粘测试

粘性是指初黏性,以环形材料的撕裂力来表达,环形试样一端与一个测试盘相接触。

一个对压力敏感的长条试样被做成一个环形试样,有粘性的一面朝外,夹持在试验机上,使环形试样与试验平板接触,当达到一个规定的接触面积时,环形试样往上提。Finat试验方法9描述了这种试验。

拧开盖子/扭转测试

一个扭转驱动安装在一个线性轴上,用于开启一个密封盖子。在这个试验中,可测定拧紧和松开扭矩及拧紧的盖子的松弛力,考虑螺距。由一个对应的testXpert III专家版测试程序测定。

ZwickRoell扭转驱动可执行单轴和多轴测试,施加扭转加拉力或压缩力。例如,可以检查安全包装,要求同时推动和扭转才能打开。

定制试验工装

根据客户的特定要求,ZwickRoell研发和制造了许多测试夹具和工装,能优化设计您的式样包装,并在短时间内测试。

例如,泡罩包装的挤出力测试、特殊包装容器的工装、葡萄酒瓶塞拔出力测试装置等。

纯材料测试

包装基本材料,如塑料、纸张、金属的测试各有不同。下面是几个例子:

  • 用于测定塑料薄膜应力-应变性能的拉伸试验
  • 测定摩擦系数(COF)
  • 用于测定橡胶包装材料的抗穿刺性能的穿刺试验
  • 用于测试单层和多层瓦楞纸板的4点弯曲试验工装 

纯材料测试的详细信息可在行业页面塑料金属纸张纺织品中找到。

Zugversuch ISO 527-3 Tafeln und Folien

拉伸性能

ISO 527-3、ASTM D882、ASTM D5323
按照ISO 527-3对薄膜和片材的拉伸性能进行符合标准的测定。
至 拉伸性能
Durchstichversuch EN 14477, ASTM F 1306 auch Parker Pen Test genannt

抗穿刺性能

EN 14477、ASTM F1306
抗穿刺性能在薄膜用于包装材料时是十分重要的,例如,包装有尖锐边缘的食物或部件。试验有以下这些标准:EN 14477、ASTM F1306。
至 抗穿刺性能
使用zwickiLine材料试验机和试验工装测试薄膜COF的静态和动态摩擦性能

摩擦系数COF

ISO 8295、ASTM D1894、JIS K 7125、DIN 53375
COF提供了关于表面结构和可印刷性的信息。静态和动态摩擦系数对于需要进一步加工成包装并印刷的薄膜来说是十分有趣的。
至 摩擦系数COF
ISO 4578, Finat FTM 9, EN 1939, AFERA 4001: Weiterreiß-, Schäl- und Adhäsionseigenschaften von Folien und Tafeln

撕裂增长、剥离和粘合特性

ISO 4578、Finat FTM 9、EN 1939、AFERA 4001
我们的材料测试机非常适合测定薄膜的撕裂增长、剥离和粘合特性,并用于,例如,用于测量抗剥离性的拉脱试验、密封接缝试验、不干胶的初粘力等。
至 撕裂增长、剥离和粘合特性
纸板的4点弯曲试验,DIN 53121或ISO 5628

4点弯曲试验

DIN 53121,ISO 5628
按照DIN 53121或ISO 5628的瓦楞纸板弯曲刚度
至 4点弯曲试验

意大利面条包装的摩擦性能

使用zwickiLine材料试验机测定意大利面条包装的摩擦性能

我们针对您的每一项需求寻找最佳的测试解决方案。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们期待着就您的需求进行探讨。

 

联系我们

相关产品

Top

Jump to the content of the page

Testing of Packaging

Packaging has a great impact on the quality of its contents and also influences consumer purchasing decisions. Both factors represent major challenges for product design, especially where food packaging is concerned. Packaging for other items must also fulfill numerous additional requirements depending on type and function, for example, packaging for cosmetics, medicine, chemicals, transport packing (pallets and crates), industrial packing (bulk bags, containers, barrels), electronic appliances, and consumer goods.

Name Type Size Download
  • Industry brochure: Food & Packaging PDF 6 MB

Requirements

Packaging products have a great impact on the quality of the contents and also influence consumer purchasing decisions. Both factors represent major challenges for product design, especially where food packaging is concerned. No other product implements as many newly and refined developments to packaging as does food. Nanotechnology, convenience, biodegradable packing, intelligent and active systems are key terms.

For example, intelligent systems show the conditions of packaged food and the environment; gas indicators detect when the gas concentration has exceeded limits in the interior packaging. For example, active systems help extend the shelf life, for example, sprayed plastics that absorb ethylene or a filter against light and radiation generated from the near UV spectrum.

Due to the growing desire for convenience, packaging should be easy to handle, easy to open, resealable or should be able to be heated directly in a microwave so food does not have to be transfered. Packaging that is easy to open is important in the cosmetic and pharmaceutical fields. Additionally, packaging for medical devices must be tightly sealed and withstand sterilization.

Packaging comes in different forms and materials thus requiring specially adapted, flexible fixtures. The following are just some examples of test fixtures for the many testing solutions ZwickRoell offers.

Examples of tests on food packaging and packing material

Function testing on the entire packaging

Packaging is as varied as the methods for opening them. Individual values are determined because testing standards are rare.

Examples of such tests:

  • Piercing beverage cartons with a straw
  • Piercing of preperforated openings
  • Opening force of ring-pull cans
  • Tearing off opening tabs, for example, those on lids
  • Tearing off carrying handles
  • Opening and closing lids with snap locks
  • Actuating force on spray pumps

Peel test on lid or sealing material

The ability to peel off dimensionally stable or rigid packaging depends on material combinations, machine parameters, and on sealed seam and tear-off geometries. Performing a test of the peel forces with a special peel test kit can help to optimize these elements. The most important value is the cracking force, but the regularity of the sealing is also significant.

A benefit of the ZwickRoell peel test kit is the exact alignment of the delaminated area with the test axis: The packaging is tracked automatically by the sliding specimen table and this ensures a consistent and reproducible measurement of the load. The opening angle is based on the manual opening and can be varied between 90° and 155°. Furthermore the kit enables flexible adjustment to fit to different packaging shapes and heights.

Compression tests on plastic beakers, buckets, boxes, containers, barrels and similar dimensionally stable packaging

Compression tests have different purposes, for example: 

Determination of stacking characteristics: There are different methods, depending on the standard and material being used. One or more packages are loaded up to failure, enabling the maximum stacking height to be determined. This test can also be performed on plastic cups with completely filled trays. Or a certain load may be applied for a preset length of time or until failure.

Determining the inherent stiffness: This test provides information for the packaging manufacturing process. The package is loaded with a defined force on closing (lid attachment) and must withstand this process without becoming damaged.

Fatigue tests: A hysteresis test is performed on a pail to see with what frequency a certain load can be applied before it breaks. In practice this happens when palettes are loaded and unloaded. Not every loading and unloading cycle is shown. Only the 1st, 100th, 500th, and 1,000th cycles are displayed for monitoring.

Tear growth test on plastic films

Standards ISO 34-1, ISO 6383-1, EN 495-2 and DIN 53363 relate to tear tests on plastic foils.

The test simulates the behavior of packaging foils when the package is opened. When opening a plastic bag, the initial tearing strength should be approximately as much as the remaining tearing strength. If the maximum force at initial tearing is too high, the danger exists that the plastic bag will suddenly tear open completely and the contents will spill out. The ideal behavior is not easy to adjust because the tear resistance (as well as the tensile strength), is very direction dependent with stretched foils.

Sealed-seam strength

The sealed-seam strength of sealings made of flexible packaging material is determined according to DIN 55529 and other standards.
A tensile test is performed on 15-mm wide strips with a peel angle of 180°. This seal must demonstrate a certain stiffness, depending on the type of packaging material used.

90°/180° peel tests

This type of test is used to determine the adhesive characteristics as adhesion and tear strength. There are many peel and tear tests that use the same principle. Examples: EN 1939, EN 1719, DIN 30646, DIN 55475, DIN 55477, FINAT test method No. 2.

There are so many because different substrate materials and adhesives are used for many different applications. Test plates made of glass or stainless steel with a standardized surface are used to compare the adhesion properties of the different materials.

The tests determine the adhesive or adhesion strength: The force that is necessary to tear a strip of a tape constantly from a test plate or glass. The result is the force referred to the width of the tape.

The tack test is often important: It determines the ability to adhere to a surface and to obtain a measurable tearing force. The adhesion on a substrate is achieved by touching or having little contact without applying a force.

Tack loop test for testing the adhesive strength of adhesive tape

Tack is the initial adhesion. It is expressed as the tearing force of a loop material which has been brought into contact with the surface of a test plate.

A strip of a pressure-sensitive material is formed into a loop with the adhesive side outwards. The testing machine brings the loop in contact with a test plate. When a defined contact area is reached, the loop is pulled off. This test is described in FINAT test method No. 9.

Unscrewing lids/torsion testing

A torsion drive is used in conjunction with a linear axis for opening a sealing cap. With this test, tightening and loosening torques and the ease of the closure cap can be tested, taking into consideration the thread pitch. This is implemented via a corresponding testXpert III Master Test Program.

ZwickRoell torsion drives can perform single-axis and multiple-axes testing combining tension or compression test with torsion. For example, safety packaging can be checked requiring simultaneous pushing and twisting for opening.

Customized test fixtures

According to customer-specific requirements, ZwickRoell develops and produces various testing tools and fixtures optimally designed for your specimen packaging and testing on short notice.

Some examples are fixtures to determine the push-out force on blister packs, fixtures for special-shape containers or testing tools to test the pull-out force of wine corks as seen in the illustration on the right.

Pure materials testing

Basic materials such as plastic, paper, and metals have the most varied material tests performed on them. A few examples:

  • Tensile test on plastic foils for determining the stress-strain characteristic
  • Determining the coefficients of friction (COF)
  • Penetration test on elastic packaging materials for determining the penetration resistance
  • 4-point flexure test kit for testing single-wall and multi-wall corrugated cardboard 

Comprehensive information for pure materials testing can be found on the Industry pages Plastics, Metals, Paper or Textiles.

Tensile test ISO 527-3 wafers and films

Tensile properties

ISO 527-3, ASTM D882, ASTM D5323
Standard-compliant determination of tensile properties on films and sheets to ISO 527-3.
to Tensile properties
Puncture test EN 14477, ASTM F1306 also known as Parker Ball-Point Test

Puncture Resistance

EN 14477, ASTM F1306
Puncture resistance is important when films are used as packaging material, for example, for food or parts with sharp edges. It is described in the following standards: EN 14477, ASTM F1306.
to Puncture Resistance
Static and dynamic friction behavior of films COF with zwickiLine materials testing machine and test fixture

Coefficients of friction COF

ISO 8295, ASTM D1894, JIS K 7125, DIN 53375
The COF provides information about the surface structure and printability. The static and dynamic coefficient of friction is particularly interesting for films that are further processed on packaging and printing machines.
to Coefficients of friction COF
ISO 4578, Finat FTM 9, EN 1939, AFERA 4001: Tear growth, peel, and adhesion characteristics of films and sheets

Tear growth, peel, and adhesion characteristics

ISO 4578, Finat FTM 9, EN 1939, AFERA 4001
Our materials testing machines are ideal for the determination of tear growth, peel and adhesion characteristics on films, and are used, for example, for pull-off tests to measure peel resistance, tests on sealed seams, initial adhesion of adhesive labels, etc.
to Tear growth, peel, and adhesion characteristics
4-Point Flexure Test on Cardboard, DIN 53121, ISO 5628

4-point flexure test

DIN 53121, ISO 5628
Bending stiffness of corrugated board to DIN 53121 or ISO 5628
to 4-point flexure test

Frictional properties of spaghetti packaging

Determination of the frictional properties of spaghetti packaging with a zwickiLine materials testing machine

We look for and find the optimal testing solution for every one of your requirements.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We look forward to discussing your needs.

 

Contact us

Related products

Top