跳转到页面内容

航空航天测试

航空航天行业中的材料表征

航空航天行业代表具有重大经济和战略意义的关键技术。随着飞行管理和控制系统取得重大进步,自主飞行和无人飞行 - 先进空中交通(Advanced Air Mobility, AAM)和无人驾驶航空系统(Unmanned Air Systems, UAS) - 的发展目前正在全面展开。如今的新太空时代,私营公司正与成熟的组织合作,热切致力于在全球范围内开发自己的火箭发射系统,从而满足日益增长的太空发射服务需求。为了带领航空行业走向可持续发展的未来,正加快开发基于可持续航空燃料(SAF)(中期目标)和基于氢气(长期目标)的驱动系统。现有机队正在进行现代化升级改造,对航空器的维护、修理和大修(MRO)需求不断增加。

借助在-253 °C (20K)低温下进行材料测试的测试系统,以及最高达2000 °C的高温测试系统,我们帮助客户开发更高效的轻量化材料和结构。了解我们的专业知识、长期经验,并深入了解针对金属材料、纤维增强塑料和三明治结构复合材料、陶瓷材料以及航空航天行业所用紧固件的机械试验相关应用。ZwickRoell的静态和动态材料试验机被我们遍布世界各地的航空航天客户应用于所有技术成熟度等级(TRL),并支持经过NADCAP认证的测试解决方案

金属 复合材料 高温 低温 紧固件 硬度试验 用户项目

航空航天测试 - 金属

铝合金因其良好的重量比特性及其成熟的制造工艺和计算方法而被广泛应用于航空航天结构之中。钛合金是另一类轻金属,亦具有非常有利的重量比特性、比铝高得多的耐腐蚀性,以及非常好的高温特性。因此,这些材料特别适用于机械高应力部件和发动机部件。在更小材料规模上,可以在承受同等高应力的结构部件中找到高强度钢合金

如今,金属增材制造工艺已取得重大进步,能够设计出之前使用传统制造工艺无法实现的高度复杂的轻量化结构。金属材料,特别是轻金属及其合金,在航空器和太空系统的设计与制造中发挥着重要作用

有关金属测试的更多信息

适用于金属的重要试验标准

除了静态试验方法之外,金属材料的疲劳试验也在测定航空航天结构中所用金属材料在实际载荷条件下的性能方面发挥着重要作用。使用我们的测试系统,ZwickRoell涵盖了所有常见的金属标准。除了标准化解决方案之外,我们还提供不同级别的定制适应性和金属自动化测试系统

金属的拉伸试验
ASTM E8
至 金属的拉伸试验
金属的拉伸试验
ISO 6892-1
至 金属的拉伸试验
低周疲劳(LCF)试验
在根据ISO 12106 / ASTM E606进行的低周疲劳(LCF)试验中,试样在高周幅和塑性变形下进行试验。
至 低周疲劳(LCF)试验
断裂力学:临界应力强度因子K1C
ASTM E399
至 断裂力学:临界应力强度因子K1C
断裂力学:裂纹扩展da/dN和阈值
ASTM E647
至 断裂力学:裂纹扩展da/dN和阈值

航空航天测试 - 复合材料

纤维增强塑料和三明治结构复合材料

由于其卓越的重量比机械性能,纤维增强塑料和三明治结构复合材料已成为航空航天技术的轻量化结构的必需材料。特别是由碳纤维增强塑料(CFRP)制成的层压板,由于其优越的抗疲劳性能,为航空航天结构的简化构造与设计做出了贡献。比公认的金属材料具有更高耐腐蚀性,是该行业使用纤维增强塑料的另一个原因。航空航天行业一直是开发复合材料系统、制造工艺,以及用于复合材料层压板和三明治结构复合材料表征的机械试验方法的先驱者,并将继续引领创新

除了在环境温度下进行各种静态和动态试验之外,也经常在-55 °C (-67 °F)至121 °C (250 °F)的规定温度范围内对航空航天结构所用的复合材料进行测试。目前,替代驱动和可持续驱动概念在近年来已得到大力发展,并且作为大型航空器的最佳选择 - 低温储存液态氢,使-253 °C (20K)超低温下的静态和疲劳试验越来越引人注目。

有关复合材料试验的更多信息 有关低温试验方法的更多信息

航空航天行业中的重要复合材料试验标准

试验方法标准空客/波音工厂标准
复合材料拉伸试验
  • 空客 AITM 1-0007
  • 波音 BSS 7320
复合材料压缩试验
  • 空客 AITM 1-0008
  • 波音BSS 7260 I、III和IV型
面内剪切试验
  • ASTM D3518
  • ISO 14129
  • 空客 AITM 1-0002
复合材料弯曲试验
层间剪切强度ILSS
  • ASTM D2344、ISO 14130、EN 2563
冲击后压缩试验(CAI)
  • ASTM D7136
  • ASTM D7137
  • 空客 AITM 1-0010
  • 波音BSS 7260 II型
轴承响应和接头强度
  • ASTM D5961
  • AITM 1-0009
  • 空客 AITM 1-0065
层间能量释放因子

模式I DCB试验

  • ISO 15026
  • ASTM D5528
  • 空客 AITM 1-0005
  • 波音 BSS 7273

模式II ENF试验

  • ASTM D7905
  • 空客 AITM 1-0006

航空航天测试 - 高温

为了测定航空发动机所用金属材料高温性能,多数情况下会使用配备高温炉的静态材料试验机进行高达1,200 °C的拉伸试验。试验机与标准环境试验箱和高温炉的组合可以实现更广泛的温度范围:从低温到1,200 °C。为了测定高应力部件在极端条件下的可靠性和耐久性,还对高温金属进行蠕变试验和蠕变疲劳试验,以测定不同温度水平下的蠕变极限和蠕变强度特性。这有助于我们的客户了解新型高温合金的性能,为具体应用选择合适的材料,并为暴露在高温下的部件设计提供适用数据。

陶瓷基复合材料(CMC)的机械载荷能力测试也可以在高达2,000 °C的极高温度下进行,并在拉伸、压缩、剪切、弯曲、蠕变和蠕变疲劳试验的基础上评估CMC对具体应用的适用性。为确保在真实操作条件下对陶瓷基复合材料进行测试,可以在650 °C至2,000 °C温度范围内的真空和惰性气体条件下执行这些试验

ZwickRoell的高温测试系统还支持在最高温度下的非接触式应变测量。因此,可以排除由传统接触式测量系统的压痕引起的敏感试样过早失效。自动和自适应高温控制器可确保高精度温度控制,并防止操作人员失误。不再需要使用高温试验经常需要的牺牲试验试样。

有关高温试验的更多信息 有关高温测试系统的更多信息 有关蠕变试验机的更多信息

高温试验的重要标准和测试系统

金属高温拉伸试验
ASTM E21
至 金属高温拉伸试验
金属高温拉伸试验
ISO 6892-2
至 金属高温拉伸试验

航空航天测试 - 低温试验方法

用于太空发射系统的各种液体燃料必须被冷却到低温。涉及的选择取决于任务具体要求、所需性能和技术可能性,包括液体燃料生产中的各项选择。凭借在航空航天行业数十年的航天发射系统开发经历,在低温下各种材料的性能方面也积累了丰富经验。然而,这方面的知识并不容易获取,也不适用于新的材料系统。此外,以前建造的火箭是为单次发射而设计的,而目前的一些系统是设计用于多次发射和可重复使用。对于未来航空业的可持续驱动概念,其长期目标是使用液态氢,在航空器上必须将其储存在-253 °C (20K)的温度下。

现代商用航空器的使用寿命非常长,这意味着,除了低温下的静态材料性能之外,用于建造机载系统的材料的疲劳性能现在也越来越受到关注。因此,过去太空旅行中关于低温下材料性能的前人研究成果只能在有限的程度上应用于航空领域的未来发展。

ZwickRoell为金属材料以及非增强和纤维增强塑料的材料表征中使用的 低温试验方法提供了静态和动态测试解决方案。可以选择浸没式低温恒温器(77K)或连续流动式低温恒温器(环境温度最高为15K),具体取决于要达到的低温。

有关低温下材料测试的更多信息

航空航天测试 - 紧固件

除了航空航天结构中使用的材料的机械性能之外,结构性能在很大程度上还取决于所使用的各种螺栓和铆钉连接的性能。为此,必须使用动态试验(尤其是根据ASTM F606NASM 1312-8NASM 1312-13标准在标准化试验方法中定义的动态试验)来测试这些结构中所用机械紧固件的静态强度,特别是疲劳强度。

ZwickRoell提供静态和动态测试解决方案,以实现这些类型试验的可靠和高效性能。

有关测试紧固件的更多信息

适用于测试紧固件的重要标准

螺母/垫圈试验
DIN EN ISO 898-2、ASTM F606-2、DIN EN ISO 3506-2
至 螺母/垫圈试验
螺纹紧固件试验
DIN EN ISO 898-1、ASTM F606-1、DIN EN ISO 3506-1
至 螺纹紧固件试验

航空航天测试 - 硬度试验

航空航天应用和国防技术的金属零部件在可靠性、使用寿命和功能完整性方面具有最高要求,有时在极端操作条件下也是如此。例如,按照航空航天行业中使用的安全寿命设计原则,根据这些指南设计的部件在其预期使用寿命内不会发生故障或失灵。因此,金属部件要接受严密的工艺监控和精确的质量控制方法。在这些情况下,硬度试验也起到重要作用。

ZwickRoell提供了符合所有既定硬度试验方法和国际试验标准的硬度试验机

有关硬度试验方法的更多信息 有关硬度试验机的更多信息

重要硬度试验标准

金属布氏硬度试验
ISO 6506、ASTM E10
至 金属布氏硬度试验
金属洛氏硬度试验
ISO 6508、ASTM E18
至 金属洛氏硬度试验
金属维氏硬度试验
ISO 6507、ASTM E92、ASTM E384
至 金属维氏硬度试验

如果您正在为每种需求寻找最佳解决方案,请联系我们的行业专家。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们很乐意讨论您的需求。

联系我们

感兴趣的航空航天用户项目

不莱梅纤维研究所
不莱梅纤维研究所(FIBRE)在低温下进行机械试验,为航空航天行业中使用的零件研发安全可靠的部件。
至 不莱梅纤维研究所
RO-RA
作为全球航空业的供应商,RO-RA航空系统依赖于ZwickRoell硬度计
至 RO-RA
Lithoz
位于维也纳的Lithoz GmbH公司是工业陶瓷增材制造领域的专家,在欧洲航天局(ESA)的一个项目中,该公司负责研究如何使用3D打印技术现场制造由月尘构成的工具和结构材料。材料通过ZwickRoell试验机进行测试。
至 Lithoz
Top

Jump to the content of the page

Aerospace Testing

Material characterization in the aerospace industry

The aerospace industry represents a key technology of great economic and strategic importance. Developments for autonomous and unmanned flying—Advanced Air Mobility (AAM) and Unmanned Air Systems (UAS)—are currently in full swing amidst major advances in flight management and control systems. In today’s New Space Era, private companies are collaborating with established space organizations and eagerly working to develop their own rocket launch systems worldwide in order to meet the growing demand for space launch services. With a goal of leading the aviation industry into a sustainable future, the development of drive systems based on Sustainable Aviation Fuels (SAF) in the medium term and hydrogen in the longterm is being accelerated. Existing fleets are being modernized and the demand for aircraft maintenance, repair and overhaul (MRO) is constantly increasing.

With testing systems for materials testing at cryogenic temperatures of -253 °C (20K) up to high-temperature testing systems of up to 2000 °C, we help our customers develop ever more efficient lightweight materials and structures. Discover our expertise, longstanding experience and in-depth understanding of applications for mechanical testing of metallic materials, fiber-reinforced plastics and sandwich composites, ceramic materials and for the testing of fasteners used in the aerospace industry. Static and dynamic materials testing machines from ZwickRoell are used by our aerospace customers around the world at all technology readiness levels (TRL), and support NADCAP accredited testing solutions.

Metals Composites High-temperature Cryogenic temperatures Fasteners Hardness testing Customer projects

Aerospace testing - metals

Aluminum alloys are widely used in aerospace structures due to their favorable weight-specific characteristics, and their established manufacturing processes and calculation methods. Titanium alloys, another class of light metals, also have very favorable weight-specific characteristics, much higher corrosion resistance when compared to aluminum, and very good high-temperature characteristics. They are therefore particularly used for mechanically highly-stressed components and for engine components. On a smaller scale, high-strength steel alloys can be found in structural components that are also subject to equally high stresses.

Major advances in additive manufacturing processes for metals now make it possible to design highly complex lightweight structures that could not previously be realized using conventional manufacturing processes. Metallic materials, especially light metals and their alloys, play a key role in the design and manufacturing of aircraft and space systems.

More on metals testing

Important test standards for metals

In addition to static test methods, fatigue tests on metallic materials play a prominent role in determining the behavior of metallic materials used in aerospace structures under real load conditions. With our testing systems, ZwickRoell covers all common metals standards. In addition to standardized solutions we offer different levels of customized adaptations and automated testing systems for metals.

Tensile test on metals
ASTM E8
to Tensile test on metals
Tensile test on metals
ISO 6892-1
to Tensile test on metals
Low cycle fatigue (LCF) test
ISO 12106, ASTM E606
to Low cycle fatigue (LCF) test
Fracture mechanics: critical stress intensity factor K1C
ASTM E399
to Fracture mechanics: critical stress intensity factor K1C
Fracture mechanics: crack growth da/dN and threshold value
ASTM E647
to Fracture mechanics: crack growth da/dN and threshold value

Aerospace testing - composites

Fiber-reinforced plastics and sandwich composites

Due to their outstanding weight-specific mechanical properties, fiber-reinforced plastics and sandwich composites are firmly established for lightweight structures used for aerospace technology. Laminates made of carbon fiber-reinforced plastics (CFRP), in particular, support simplified construction and design of aerospace structures due to their advantageous fatigue properties. The higher corrosion resistance when compared to well-established metallic materials is another reason for the use of fiber-reinforced plastics in this industry. The aerospace industry has been and continues to be a pioneer in the continuous development of composite material systems, manufacturing processes and mechanical test methods for the characterization of composite laminates and sandwich composites.

In addition to a wide range of static and dynamic tests at ambient temperature, tests on composites for aerospace structures are also often performed in a defined temperature range from -55 °C (-67 °F) to 121 °C (250 °F). Currently, the development of alternative and sustainable drive concepts, which has intensified considerably in recent years, and the storage of liquid hydrogen at cryogenic temperatures, which is the most favorable option for larger aircraft, are bringing static and fatigue tests at ultra-low temperatures of -253 °C (20K) increasingly into the limelight.

More on composites testing More on cryogenic test methods

Important composites test standards in the aerospace industry

Test methodStandardAirbus / Boeing factory standards
Composites tensile tests
  • Airbus AITM 1-0007
  • Boeing BSS 7320
Composites compression tests
  • Airbus AITM 1-0008
  • Boeing BSS 7260 Type I, III & IV
In-plane shear tests
  • ASTM D3518
  • ISO 14129
  • Airbus AITM 1-0002
Composites flexure tests
Interlaminar shear strength ILSS
  • ASTM D2344, ISO 14130, EN 2563
Compression after impact CAI
  • ASTM D7136
  • ASTM D7137
  • Airbus AITM 1-0010
  • Boeing BSS 7260 Type II
Bearing response and joint strength
  • ASTM D5961
  • AITM 1-0009
  • Airbus AITM 1-0065
Interlaminar energy release rate

Mode I DCB test

  • ISO 15026
  • ASTM D5528
  • Airbus AITM 1-0005
  • Boeing BSS 7273

Mode II ENF test

  • ASTM D7905
  • Airbus AITM 1-0006

Aerospace testing - high temperature

To determine the high-temperature behavior of metallic materials used in aircraft engines, predominantly tensile tests up to 1,200 °C are performed using a static materials testing machine equipped with a high-temperature furnace. The combination of the testing machine with a standard temperature chamber and a high-temperature furnace covers an even wider temperature range from low temperatures up to 1,200 °C. To determine the reliability and durability of highly stressed components under extreme conditions, high-temperature metals are also subjected to creep tests and creep fatigue tests to determine creep limits and creep strength characteristics at different temperature levels. This helps our customers understand the behavior of new high-temperature alloys, to select the right material for a specific application, and provides suitable data for the design of components exposed to high temperatures.

The mechanical load capacity of ceramic matrix composites (CMCs) can also be tested at extremely high temperatures of up to 2,000 °C. The suitability of CMCs for specific applications is evaluated on the basis of tensile, compression, shear, bending, creep and creep fatigue tests. To ensure that the CMCs are tested under real operating conditions, the tests can be carried out under vacuum and inert gas conditions in a temperature range from 650 °C to 2,000 °C.

High-temperature testing systems from ZwickRoell also support non-contact strain measurement up to the maximum temperature. Premature failure of sensitive specimens caused by indentations from conventional contact measuring systems can therefore be ruled out. An automatic and adaptive high-temperature controller ensures high-precision temperature control and prevents operator errors. The use of sacrificial test specimens often required for high-temperature tests is no longer necessary.

More on high-temperature testing More on high-temperature testing systems More on creep testing machines

Important standards and testing systems for high-temperature testing

Tensile test on metals at elevated temperature
ASTM E21
to Tensile test on metals at elevated temperature
Tensile test on metals at elevated temperature
ISO 6892-2
to Tensile test on metals at elevated temperature

Aerospace testing - cryogenic test methods

Various liquid fuels used for space launch systems have to be cooled down to cryogenic temperatures. Their selection depends on the specific requirements of the mission, the desired performance and the technological possibilities, including in the production of liquid fuels. With decades of experience in the development of space launch systems for the aerospace industry, experience has also been gathered when it comes to the behavior of various materials at cryogenic temperatures. However, this knowledge is not widely available and does not exist for new material systems. Furthermore, previously built rockets were designed for single launch purposes, while some current systems are designed for multiple launches and reusability. For future sustainable drive concepts in aviation, the longterm objective is to use liquid hydrogen, which must then be stored on board at -253 °C (20K).

The very long service life of modern commercial aircraft means that, in addition to the static material behavior at cryogenic temperatures, the fatigue behavior of the materials used to construct the onboard systems is now increasingly coming into focus. Previous findings on material behavior at cryogenic temperatures from past space travel can therefore only be applied to future developments in the field of aviation to a limited extent.

ZwickRoell offers static and dynamic testing solutions forcryogenic test methods used in the material characterization of metallic materials as well as unreinforced and fiber-reinforced plastics. Depending on the cryogenic temperatures to be reached, a choice is made between immersion cryostats (77K) or continuous flow cryostats (ambient temperature up to 15K).

More on materials testing at cryogenic temperatures

Aerospace testing - fasteners

In addition to the mechanical properties of the materials used in aerospace structures, the structural behavior is largely determined by the properties of the various bolt and rivet connections used. For this purpose, the static strength and, in particular the fatigue strength of the mechanical fasteners implemented in these structures, must be tested using dynamic tests—especially those defined in the standardized test methods according to ASTM F606 and NASM 1312-8 and NASM 1312-13.

ZwickRoell offers static and dynamic testing solutions for reliable and efficient performance of these types of tests.

More on testing fasteners

Important standards for testing fasteners

Testing of nuts / washers
DIN EN ISO 898-2, ASTM F606-2, DIN EN ISO 3506-2
to Testing of nuts / washers
Testing of Threaded Fasteners
DIN EN ISO 898-1, ASTM F606-1, DIN EN ISO 3506-1
to Testing of Threaded Fasteners

Aerospace testing - hardness testing

Metallic parts and components for aerospace applications and defense technology are subject to the highest demands in terms of reliability, service life and functional integrity, sometimes under extreme operating conditions. With the safe-life design principle used in the aerospace industry, for example, failure or malfunction of a component designed under these guidelines is ruled out during its intended service life. Metal components are therefore subjected to close process monitoring and precise quality control methods. Hardness testing also plays an important role in these situations.

ZwickRoell offers hardness testing machines that meet all established hardness test methods and international test standards.

More on the hardness test methods More on hardness testing machines

Important hardness test standards

Brinell hardness test metals
ISO 6506, ASTM E10
to Brinell hardness test metals
Rockwell hardness test metals
ISO 6508, ASTM E18
to Rockwell hardness test metals
Vickers hardness testing metals
ISO 6507, ASTM E92, ASTM E384
to Vickers hardness testing metals

If you are looking for the optimal solution for each of your requirements, please contact our industry experts.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We will be happy to discuss your needs.

Contact us

Interesting aerospace customer projects

Fiber Institute Bremen e.V.
The Fiber Institute Bremen e.V. (FIBRE) carries out mechanical testing at cryogenic temperatures to develop safe and reliable components for parts used in the aerospace industry.
to Fiber Institute Bremen e.V.
RO-RA
As a supplier to the global aviation industry, RO-RA Aviation Systems relies on hardness testers from ZwickRoell
to RO-RA
Lithoz
For a project of the European Space Agency (ESA), Lithoz GmbH in Vienna, a specialist for technical ceramics in additive manufacturing, is researching how tools and construction materials made of moon dust can be fabricated on site using 3D printing. The material is tested with ZwickRoell testing machines.
to Lithoz
KRP
Testing institute uses testing machine from ZwickRoell for tests down to -269 °C on additive manufactured aluminum and titanium structures.
to KRP
AIM Norway
Manufacturer of aerospace components – Investment in creep testing machines especially for the evaluation of hydrogen embrittlement to ASTM F519 and ASTM F1624
to AIM Norway
Top