跳转到页面内容

厚板测试

厚板主要用于结构工程,如大型桥梁、大型建筑、船只、海上钻井平台、风力发电机,以及重型设备如起重机、挖掘机。此外,也被用于制造大型长距离油气输送管道的半成品。

名字 类型 尺寸 下载

在许多应用中,材料的性能必须符合规范,长期安全使用的特征参数也必须符合规定。这些规定是根据板材本身如何使用的情况来决定的。下面介绍的试验方法是测试厚板的常用方法。在一些特殊的应用场合,需要采取一些其他的试验方法来确认材料可以被长期安全地使用。

厚板通常宽不超过4m,厚度从3mm至250mm不等,长度不超过20m。厚板是用钢坯反复热形变轧制制成。 

拉伸试验

厚板的拉伸试验主要根据ISO 6892-1以及ASTM E8这两个在国际上被广泛认可的标准进行。ISO 6892-1同时也是欧洲标准(EN ISO 6892-1),两标准用词一致,所以在欧盟通用(如德国标准DIN EN ISO 6892-1)。在制备试样时,制备方法必须最大程度地保留原始板材的厚度。试样通常具有相对较大的横截面积,因此只有具有大载荷的试验机才能对其进行试验。试样的平行长度或受载荷变形部分是通过铣削制成。为了让测试结果尽可能接近原始材料性能,在加工试样时必须保留原板材厚度,对试样表面进行非常小心的磨削抛光,以保证材料性能与原板材一致。 

自2009年开始,ISO 6892-1以及ASTM E8都允许试验速度根据应变速率自动进行控制与切换。makroXtens和laserXtens系列引伸计都具有符合试验标准(特别与应变速率闭环控制有关的)精度要求的应变速率控制能力。

广泛的试验解决方案

ZwickRoell有多种标准和定制试验系统用于材料的拉伸试验,试验力最高达2,500 kN。这些试验系统可根据标准测定材料特性,精度非常高。ZwickRoell的液压平推夹具可以确保试样在整个试验过程中都被稳定地夹持及定位,不会出现滑动或松脱现象。 

符合标准的应变测量

在绝大多数情况下,应变量是通过自动的接触式或非接触式光学引伸计进行测量的,测量方法必须符合标准要求。ZwickRoell的makroXtens系列引伸计在测试厚板领域是经过实践检验的经典引伸计。该系列引伸计的机械构造包括高分辨率、高精度的传感器,以及坚固耐用的制作材料,使得引伸计可以耐受严酷的环境。该系列引伸计坚固耐用,可以持续追踪试样应变直至试样断裂,并确定断裂时应变。这省去了繁复的手动标记以及测试后的分类、测量过程。 

追踪至断裂的应变测量

laserXtens系列引伸计是可以跟踪测量应变直至试样断裂的创新产品。该系列可以满足ISO 6892-1、ASTM E8、ISO 9513以及ASTM E83标准要求,对厚板进行应变速率控制测量,并且不需要对试样进行清洗准备。该系列引伸计不需要对试样进行手工标记,只需将激光按要求对准试样,反射产生的散斑即为标记。光学评估系统在即使有灰尘附着或者脱落试样的情况下也可以不受干扰地跟踪“自标标距”。 

硬度试验

厚板的硬度试验有多种方法。根据应用的不同,硬度试验根据不同的标准进行,如ISO 6506-1(布氏)ISO 6507-1(维氏)ISO 6508-1(洛氏),以及ASTM E10(布氏)、ASTM E384(维氏和努氏)和ASTM E18(洛氏)。此外,在某些特殊领域(如航空航天领域使用欧洲标准EN 2002-7)会使用到其他的方法或规范;对大型表面进行非破坏性试验时采用QEM方法(比如3MA方法),此方法在VDI指南VDI/VDE 2616-1(金属材料硬度测试)中有描述。 

ZwickRoell可以提供满足所有试验方法的硬度计产品组合。ZwickRoell硬度计设备可以满足所有常用国际标准要求,并且有资质进行符合国际标准要求的校准。ZwickRoell的校准实验室拥有德国国家认证机构DAkkS认证的硬度计校准资质。

测试并确定平均总体硬度值

硬度试验的一个方面就是测试并确定轧制后板材的平均总体硬度值。轧制是用于确定板材厚度以及机械性能的热力学工艺。使用更大力值的硬度测试方法是用来测定一些粗糙表面的平均硬度值的。最好是采用布氏或者洛氏硬度测试方法。在厚板测试中,也经常使用便携式硬度计。便携式硬度计可以在现场对原件进行测试。当使用固定式硬度计时,需要从厚板上取下小块试样。小块试样可以直接作为试样,也可以再从中取下更小的试样用于硬度测试。 

用硬度试验测定金相组织的晶粒结构

硬度试验的另一个方面就是对金相组织进行硬度测试来确定晶粒结构。由于金相组织微小,需要使用试验力非常小的硬度计 - 一般来说,需要将固定式硬度计的试验力调整到压痕的尺寸和深度与金相组织接近。 

简支梁冲击试验

缺口冲击强度是管道施工以及造船应用中重要的设计参数,该参数可以使用摆锤冲击试验机中的简支梁冲击试样测定。测试方法在国际标准ISO 148-1和美国标准ASTM E23中都有描述及定义。ISO标准与欧洲标准EN ISO 148-1完全一致。

在简支梁冲击试验中,标准缺口试样通过手、简单的给料装置或者全自动给料装置放置到位,冲击试验力最高可达750J。试验一般在室温下进行,不过也会在低温下用于测定高到低转变温度。ZwickRoell可以提供能将试样调制到低至–70°C的温度调节浴槽,以及能够低达-180°C的温度调节装置。

根据机械指令,摆锤冲击试验必须符合严格的安全标准,而ZwickRoell的安全防护罩以及久经考验的安全技术能满足标准要求。

落锤冲击试验

W. S. Pellini描述的落锤冲击试验是用来研究钢材的脆性断裂的,这与美国标准ASTM E208和钢铁试验表SEP 1325对裂纹扩展终止行为的评估是可以比较的。在该试验中,落锤将撞击两端都有支撑的矩形弯曲试样,导致试样拉伸面在规定的总挠度范围内发生脆性断裂。此脆性断裂是由位于受拉表面上的一个缺口焊道引起的,该焊道也被称为起裂器。然后再分析确定由该人造的起裂器引起的脆性断裂是否扩展到试样两边,还是提前发生裂纹扩展终止。断裂的形成与停止会以光学方式进行评估,或者通过手动来评估。如果裂纹扩展到至少一个边上,则认为试样已经断裂。测试结果同样受试样温度的影响。

Pellini落锤冲击试验机有550J和1650J两种型号。重锤最大下落高度为1.0 m或1.3 m。重锤高度是由无级高度调节器自动调节的。根据标准(ASTM E208和SEP 1325),规定的试验能量是由配重简单实现的。落下能量是自动计算的。试验区域由安全电路进行电气以及机械保护。测试只有在所有的安全触点跳闸并执行后才能开始。试验人员可以在触摸屏上进行操控,屏幕上会显示试验的重锤高度、冲击能量、重锤重量以及冲击速度。

断裂韧性试验

断裂韧性KIc是金属材料在飞机制造、发电厂建设、汽车工程等安全相关领域应用的一个重要特性。断裂韧性是通过对已有预制裂纹的试样进行试验来测定的,通常,人们采用先对试样进行开口,再进行疲劳拉伸直至裂纹长度符合标准。再对试样施加准静态载荷直至断裂。断裂韧性可以通过载荷-变形曲线以及裂纹长度来确定。试验方法在标准ASTM E 399中有阐述。其他相关标准还有ASTM E813E1152E1290

2步法测定KIc

2步法测定KIc先后采用的设备为ZwickRoell的Vibrophore高频疲劳试验机和ZwickRoell材料试验机,该方法效率较高。试样中裂纹的形成方法是先以机械方式制造缺口,然后再循环施加载荷。Vibrophore高频疲劳试验机振动频率高,可快速产生规定的裂纹(预制裂纹)。由于共振频率对裂纹的形成极其敏感,因此该过程可高度再现。

紧凑拉伸试样(CT试样)

最常用的试样形状就是所谓的CT(紧凑拉伸)试样。载荷由插入试样孔中的销钉施加,形成拉伸和弯曲的混合载荷。

SENB试样

除了CT试样,人们还会采用单边切口梁(SENB)试样。弯曲试样的试验方法比CT试样简单,但所需的试样体积要大得多。这一点可以在插图中清楚地看到。

全自动试验系统

拉伸试验中对试样进行安全、精确、可靠的处理对操作员提出了极高的要求。ZwickRoell的全自动试验系统解决方案可以满足上述要求。该解决方案可以减轻操作员负担,最大程度降低操作员对测试结果产生的影响,同时增强操作的安全性和可靠性。

在ZwickRoell全自动试验系统中,待检试样被手工分类放入试样架中。从试样装好开始,拉伸试验就可以自动开始进行了,直到需要对碎样品进行分类检查(如果需要)才再次需要人工干预。

除了拉伸材料试验机,还可以根据需求在这个全自动试验系统中整合测量仪器和试验设备,特别是ZwickRoell的横截面测量仪,具有四个独立的自动测量传感器,可以得到符合标准的精确的横截面积。

我们针对您的每一项需求寻找最佳的测试解决方案。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们期待着就您的需求进行探讨。

 

联系我们

相关产品

Top

Jump to the content of the page

Testing of heavy plates

They are used primarily in the construction industry, for large bridges, in large-scale construction and shipbuilding, for offshore drilling platforms and in wind turbines, as well as for heavy equipment such as cranes and excavators. Furthermore, they are used as semi-finished products for large pipes that transport oil and gas over long distances.

Name Type Size Download

In many applications, compliance with characteristic values or specification limits for safety in long-term use is required. The relevant and required characteristic values are determined depending on how the heavy plate is used. The test methods used for this segment are methods often used in heavy plate testing. In special applications or uses, other test methods not mentioned here can be used to ensure safe and long-term use and operation.

Heavy plates are steel sheets with a width of up to four meters and a thickness of at least three millimeters up to approx. 250 mm and a length of up to twenty meters. They are manufactured by the reverse thermomechanical rolling of slabs. 

Tensile tests on heavy plates

Tensile tests on heavy plates are mainly performed according to ISO 6892-1 and ASTM E8, which are internationally recognized and widespread standards.ISO 6892-1 is also a European standard (EN ISO 6892-1) that is identically worded, and thus applicable in the European Union(e.g. DIN EN ISO 6892-1 in Germany).Tensile specimens for this type of tensile test are removed from heavy plate in such a way that the sheet thickness is retained as specimen thickness to the greatest degree possible.Specimens have a correspondingly large cross-section and usually require materials testing machines with a high load range or heavy load range.The parallel length or the part of the specimen deformed under load is produced by milling.The unprocessed thickness and the careful milling and smoothing of the specimen thickness ensure that the specimen is changed only slightly and therefore material characteristics are hardly influenced.

Since 2009, ISO 6892-1 and ASTM E8 allow the test speed to be automatically controlled and regulated by the strain rate.The tolerances called for in the standards for strain rate control (in particular those relevant to closed-loop strain rate control) can be easily met by both the makroXtens and laserXtens extensometers.

Wide range of testing solutions

ZwickRoell offers a wide range of standard and customized testing systems up to 2500 kN for determining characteristic values from tensile testing.These testing systems can determine material characteristics according to the standard with a high level of accuracy.ZwickRoell's parallel closing, hydraulic specimen grips ensure that perfect clamping and positioning of specimens are maintained throughout the entire test,preventing the specimen from slipping or sliding.

Standard-compliant strain measurement

In most cases, standard-compliant strain measurement is performed by automatic contact or optical (non-contact) extensometers.Thanks to its mechanical construction featuring high resolution, and a very high level of accuracy and robustness, makroXtens withstands harsh environments.It's robust mechanical construction enables continuous strain measurement up to specimen break.Automated determination of strain at break is possible without onerous markings and manual measuring after specimen remains are sorted.

Strain measurement up to break

laserXtens is an innovative solution for strain measurement up to specimen break,fulfilling standard requirements (ISO 6892-1, ASTM E8, ISO 9513, and ASTM E83) for heavy plate specimens with flying colors.laserXtens does not require specimen markings; using a laser light, it uses the pattern it creates itself as markings on the surface.The optical evaluation of this "self-marking" is done so that even cinders and the occasional spalling of cinder does not disturb the markings.

Hardness tests

Hardness tests on heavy plates are performed in a variety of ways. Depending on the application, hardness tests are performed to ISO 6506-1 (Brinell), ISO 6507-1 (Vickers), ISO 6508-1 (Rockwell), as well as ASTM E10 (Brinell), ASTM E384 (Vickers and Knoop), and ASTM E18 (Rockwell). Other methods or regulations are also used in certain application areas (for example, the European standard EN 2002-7 for applications in aerospace); for the testing of large surfaces and non-destructive testing, QEM methods are used (for example, the 3MA method), which is described in the VDI Guideline VDI/VDE 2616-1 (Hardness Testing of Metallic Materials). 

The ZwickRoell product portfolio offers hardness testers and devices for all test methods. ZwickRoell hardness testers and devices meet the requirements of all common international standards and can also be calibrated to international standards. As a calibration lab, ZwickRoell is accredited for the calibration of hardness testers by the German national accreditation body DAkkS.

Testing and determining the average global hardness value

One aspect of hardness testing is the testing and determination of the average global hardness value of sheet after rolling. Rolling is a thermo-mechanical process used to determine sheet thickness, as well as mechanical properties. Hardness methods that employ higher forces are used to determine the average values of these sometimes coarse structures. Preferable methods are Brinell or Rockwell. In the testing of heavy plates, portable hardness testers are also often used. They can be used on site on the original part. Coupons are taken from heavy plates when stationary hardness testers are used. They are used as the specimens themselves, or smaller specimens are taken from the coupons and prepared for a hardness test. 

Determining the grain structure of metallographic constituents with hardness tests

Another aspect of hardness testing is the determination of the grain structure by performing hardness tests on metallographic constituents. Due to the small size of metallographic constituents, hardness testers with small to very small forces are used—generally speaking, stationary microhardness testers with indention sizes and depths that can be adjusted via the indention force to the dimensions of the metallographic constituents. 

Charpy impact test on heavy plates

Notched impact strength is an important characteristic for applications in pipeline construction and shipbuildingand can be determined with Charpy specimens in pendulum impact testers.The ISO standard is identical to the European standard EN ISO 148-1.

The tests are performed at ambient temperature, but also at low temperatures to determine the high to low transition temperature.ZwickRoell supplies temperature conditioning baths for correct conditioning of specimens down to –70°C and temperature conditioning devices for down to -180°C.

which are comfortably met by ZwickRoell’s safety housing and sophisticated safety technology.

Drop weight test / Pellini test on heavy plates

The drop weight test as described by W. S. Pellini is used to investigate the brittle fracture tendency of steels for comparative evaluation of crack arrest behavior to the American standard ASTM E208 and steel and iron test sheet SEP 1325.During the test, weights fall onto a rectangular flexure specimen supported at both ends,causing a brittle fracture on the tensile side of the specimen within a given total deflection.This brittle fracture is initiated by a notched welding bead laid on this side and known as the crack starter.It is then determined whether the brittle fracture caused by the artificial crack-starter spreads as far as one of the two side faces of the specimen or is arrested beforehand.Crack formation or break are evaluated optically and manually.If the fracture extends to one of the two side faces, the specimen is considered broken.Tests also depend on the specimen temperature.

Drop weight testers for Pellini tests are available in two sizes with energies of 550 J and 1650 J.The maximum drop height is 1.0 m or 1.3 m. The drop weight is raised automaticallywith continuous drop height adjustment.In accordance with standards (ASTM E208 and SEP 1325), the prescribed drop energies are achieved by the simple use of weights.Drop energy is calculated automatically.The test area is electrically and mechanically protected via a safety circuit.The test is not performed until all safety contacts have been tripped and executed.Operation is via a touch screen, on which drop height, drop energy, drop weight, and impact velocity are shown.

Fracture toughness testing on heavy plates

Fracture toughness testing K1c is an important characteristic for metal materials in safety-related applications such as aircraft construction, power plant construction, and even automotive engineering.Fracture toughness is determined using a specimen in which an artificial crack has been introduced.The crack is introduced usually through notching of the specimen followed by pre-cracking until a defined crack length is achieved.The specimen is then loaded quasi-statically to break.The fracture toughness K1c can be determined from the load-deformation curve and the length of the crack.Details of the test procedure are contained in standard .Other relevant standards are ASTM E813, E1152 and E1290.

Two-stage test for K1c determination

The two-stage test for K1c determination can be performed efficiently on ZwickRoell Vibrophores and then on ZwickRoell materials testing machines.Crack formation in the specimen is evoked by the mechanically produced notch followed by cyclic loading.The Vibrophore's high frequency allows rapid generation of a defined crack (pre-cracking). The process is highly reproducible thanks to the high sensitivity of the resonant frequency to crack formation.

Compact specimen (CT specimen)

The specimen geometry most frequently used is the specimen referred to as a CT(compact tension) specimen.The load is applied through pins inserted into holes in the specimen,yielding a mixed tensile and flexure loading.

SENB specimens

In addition to CT specimens, single-edge notched bending (SENB) specimens are used.While the testing method is simpler for the flexure specimen than the CT specimen, the required specimen volume is significantly greater.This is shown clearly in the illustrations.

Automated tensile test on heavy plate

Safe, precise, reliable handling of heavy specimens places severe demands on operators of tensile tests.by relieving the load on the operator, minimizing operator influence, and increasing operational safety and reliability.

With ZwickRoell automation, specimens awaiting testing are manually sorted into magazines.From this point (storing the specimen). the tensile test is performed automatically, right up to sorting the specimen remains for inspection if required.

View all automated testing systems

We look for and find the optimal testing solution for every one of your requirements.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We look forward to discussing your needs.

 

Contact us

Related products

Top