跳转到页面内容

特殊研发解决方案

ZwickRoell不仅与广大机构合作开发定制测试解决方案,同时也提供大量针对研发应用的标准化测试解决方案。对于科学家来说,材料试验机最重要的一点就是测试的灵活性,这是由于在工作中经常会面对全新的测试要求,并且如果可能还需要用现有的设备满足。

测试系统的接口也特别重要。一方面,人们通常采用新型传感器,传感器的测量值必须与试验机其他测量值信号一起记录;另一方面,记录数据的处理也需要尽可能简便。采用testXpert III可以直接处理试验数据,同时也支持将试验数据输出至其他分析软件进行处理。

名字 类型 尺寸 下载
  • 行业手册:学术研讨 PDF 29 MB

1.集成化应变片

原则上,从测量技术的角度来看,应变片必须能够同步记录所有参数 - 包括力值、变形量以及应变。

ZwickRoell有两种连接应变片的选项。 

直接与testControl电子测量控制系统连接
通过HBM测量放大器连接

直接与testControl电子测量控制系统连接

测试系统采用外部接线盒将各种应变片(120Ω、350Ω等)接入试验系统,并且与应变片连接为惠斯通电桥。所采用的应变片可以与该接口连接形成4电阻或6电阻电桥。系统还能进行温度补偿。根据testControl配置不同,最多可以集成4个DMS通道。

通过HBM测量放大器连接

特殊的同步机制允许使用HBM MGC+或者QuantumX来增加测量点数量。测量值与试验机的测量信号同步记录,但是不能用于闭环控制。

2.testXpert III特殊功能

多年来,ZwickRoell不断为testXpert III开发对于研究者非常重要的功能。以下为几个典型例子。 

了解更多有关testXpert III软件的信息

3.高温试验

降低二氧化碳排放的一个关键途径是提高热发动机的效率。为此,必须提高燃烧室的温度,这就需要使用新材料和要求高温。

在开发从A-USC(先进超临界)电厂到新型核反应堆的新电厂技术时,必须明确理解新技术的高温特性。这种趋势意味着越来越多的测试是在高温下进行的。 

ZwickRoell有自己的能力中心来专门处理这些问题。通常,在真空或惰性气体环境中,试验温度达到1200°C甚至更高。高温试验的一个挑战是直接测量变形/应变。

多年来,ZwickRoell的laserXtens激光引伸计一直受到信赖,它针对高温进行了优化,可以在高温炉内通过窗口无接触地测量试样的应变。

4.蠕变试验和周期性特征

除了纯高温特性外,其他机械特性(也必须在高温下测定)在电厂技术中也很重要。除了耐高温外,许多发电厂由于风力和太阳能发电厂供电波动而改变的运行模式也是一个因素,对材料提出了特殊要求。

许多发电厂必须能够以灵活的方式在短时间内重新启动和关闭。这会导致材料热机械疲劳(TMF),即每次启动和关闭时,材料都会热膨胀。20世纪的大多数发电厂并不是针对这种应力而设计的,因此在回顾过去时必须重新计算和转换。

所有蒸汽发电厂的另一个问题是材料腐蚀,尤其是在温度高达760°C和蒸汽压力高达380 bar的A-USC发电厂。材料的反应方式(松弛或延迟)是在恒定的应变或应力下,在高温下长时间观察到的。这也是周期性的(蠕变疲劳)。

5.低周疲劳试验(LCF试验)

低周疲劳试验期间,在特定温度(通常较高)下对材料施加周期载荷,直至产生微小的塑性变形。试验中试样或材料仅承受数千次上述交变载荷。试验对材料试验机或试验机控制系统提出了非常高的要求,因为材料刚度在弹性到塑性变形阶段会发生巨大变化,控制系统必须快速反应以保证应变增加的速率恒定。 

6.热机械疲劳(TMF)

热机械疲劳(TMF)是模仿材料在热膨胀后受到机械载荷的试验。在发电厂(热发动机)的每一次启停过程都会发生。在启动时,所有的部件从室温升高至工作温度,同时材料发生膨胀。这会在材料内部产生应力,必须精确测定该应力以免对部件造成破坏。 

热机械疲劳试验需要循环加热试样,试验机在相同或者相反的相位施加机械应变。 

7.高周疲劳(HCF)

与LCF试验相比,在高周疲劳试验中,载荷仅在材料的线弹性范围内发生变化。一个关键应用是测定材料或部件的疲劳极限。疲劳极限通常使用Woehler曲线(s/n曲线)来测定,在测量期间,对试样施加不同的应力和应变幅直到其失效。Woehler曲线通过恒定振幅测定;Gassner曲线通过变幅测定。

这些特性曲线也在不同温度下测定。

8.从纳米级到宏观的仪器化硬度试验

仪器化压痕深度测量在研究中已应用多年。它用于测定非常薄的层或涂层的机械特性。力压痕深度测量可以测定硬度(马氏硬度)和弹塑性特性。

作为测定涂层性能的经验法则,压头(维氏或Berkowitch)穿透涂层厚度不得超过10%。ZwickRoell UNAT系统可用于10nm到30µm之间的压痕深度,而ZHU/Zwicki系统可用于超过6µm的压痕深度。这意味着ZwickRoell拥有一个适用于所有纳米、微米和宏观硬度范围的解决方案。

我们针对您的每一项需求寻找最佳的测试解决方案。

请联系我们的行业专家。

我们期待着就您的需求进行探讨。

 

联系我们

Top

Jump to the content of the page

Special Solutions for Research and Development

Along with customized solutions developed by ZwickRoell in cooperation with various institutes, ZwickRoell also offers many standard solutions specific to applications in research. For scientists, a key concern is the flexibility of a material testing machine. They encounter new testing requirements on a regular basis, and these requirements need to be met using their existing machinery, if possible.

System interfaces are of particular importance. On the one hand, new sensors are often used, which must be recorded together with the machine's measurement-signals. On the other hand, it must be possible to easily process the recorded data. This can be achieved directly in testXpert III or by exporting the data to an external evaluation software.

Name Type Size Download
  • Industry brochure: Academia PDF 4 MB

1. Integrating strain gauges

In principle, it is necessary, from a measurement technology standpoint, to synchronously record all signals with a strain gauge—from force, to deformation, and the strain.

ZwickRoell offers two connection options for connecting strain gauges. 

Direct connection to testControl measurement and control electronics
Connection via an HBM measurement amplifier

Direct connection to testControl measurement and control electronics

The Wheatstone bridge completion is implemented by means of an external connection box, which connects various types of strain gauges (120Ω, 350Ω, etc.) to the testing system. An applied strain gauge can be connected in this interface connection by means of 4- and 6-conductor technology. Temperature compensation is also possible. Up to 4 DMS channels can be integrated, depending on how testControl is equipped.

Connection via an HBM measurement amplifier

A special synchronization mechanism allows you to easily increase the number of measuring points with an HBM MGC+ or QuantumX. The measured values are also recorded in synchronization with the measurement signal of the testing machine, however they cannot be used for controlling purposes.

2. Special testXpert III functions

Over the years, ZwickRoell has continuously added functions to testXpert III that are particularly important to researchers. The following are just a few of these. 

Learn more about our testXpert III software

3. High temperature tests

A key approach in reducing CO2 emissions is improving the efficiency of thermal engines. To achieve this, the combustion chamber temperature must increase, which requires new materials and requirements for high temperatures.

When developing new power plant technologies—from A-USC (Advanced Ultrasupercritical) power plants to new nuclear reactors—a clear understanding of high temperature characteristics is essential. This trend means that more and more tests are performed at high temperatures. 

ZwickRoell has its own competence center dedicated to these issues. Typically, test temperatures reach 1,200 °C or even higher when in a vacuum or inert gas atmosphere. One challenge in performing high temperature tests is measuring the deformation/strain directly.

For years, ZwickRoell has relied on its laserXtens extensometer, optimized for high temperatures. It can measure the specimen's strain in the high temperature furnace through a window without contact.

4. Creep tests and cyclical characteristics

Along with purely high temperature characteristics, other mechanical characteristics, which must also be determined under high temperatures, are also important in power plant technology. In addition to high temperature resistance, the modified operation mode of many power plants caused by a fluctuating supply from wind and solar power plants is a factor, placing special requirements on materials.

Many power plants must be able to be started up and shut down again in a flexible way, and in short intervals. This leads to material thermo-mechanical fatigue (TMF), where the material expands thermally with every start up and shut down. Most power plants of the 20th century were not designed for such stresses and must be recalculated and converted accordingly in retrospect.

Another issue for all steam power plants, but specifically for A-USC power plants operated at temperatures up to 760 °C and vapor pressures up to 380 bar, is material corrosion. The way in which the materials react (relaxation or retardation) is observed at a constant strain or stress over a longer period of time at elevated temperatures. This is also done cyclically (creep fatigue).

5. Low cycle fatigue (LCF tests)

During a low cycle fatigue test, the material is cyclically loaded at a specific temperature (usually a heightened temperature) until it reaches minimal plastic deformation. The specimen (material) withstands only a few thousand load changes under this kind of load. During this process, the demands placed on the testing machine or the machine controller are particularly high, because during the transition from elastic to plastic deformation, the specimen's stiffness dramatically changes and therefore the controller must respond very quickly to guarantee a constant rate of strain increase. 

6. Thermo-mechanical fatigue (TMF)

Thermo-mechanical fatigue (TMF) is the simulation of the mechanical load as a result of the thermal expansion of the material. It occurs every time a power plant (but also any thermal engine) is started up or shut down. During startup, the temperature of all components rises from room temperature to operating temperature, which is accompanied by an expansion of the material. This expansion creates a stress in the material, which must be determined with accuracy to prevent component damage. 

Thermo-mechanical fatigue involves heating a specimen cyclically; the testing machine superimposes a mechanical strain in the same or inverse phase. 

7. High cycle fatigue (HCF)

In contrast to an LCF test, the load change is driven only in the linear-elastic range of the material in a high cycle fatigue test. One key application is the determination of the fatigue limit of a material or component. The fatigue limit is usually determined using a Woehler curve (s/n curve), where various stress and strain amplitudes are applied to the specimen until it fails. The Woehler curve is determined using constant amplitudes; the Gassner curve is determined using variable amplitudes.

These characteristic curves are also determined at various temperatures.

8. Instrumented hardness ranges from nano to macro

Instrumented indentation depth measurement has been used in research for many years. It is used to determine the mechanical characteristics of very thin layers or coatings. A force indentation depth measurement can determine the hardness (Martens) and the elastic and plastic characteristics.

As a rule of thumb for determining the coating properties, the indenter (Vickers or Berkowitch) may not penetrate more than 10% of the coating thickness. The ZwickRoell UNAT system can be used for indentation depths between 10 nm and 30 µm, and the ZHU/Zwicki System for indentation depths above 6 µm. This means ZwickRoell has a solution for all nano, micro, and macro hardness ranges.

We look for and find the optimal testing solution for every one of your requirements.

Get in contact with our industry experts.

We look forward to discussing your needs.

 

Contact us

Top